

2018 PCMIA Annual Joint Meeting Day 2







Ed Zeglen

Michael Trevits

Barbara J. Arnold

The day began with the SME Business Meeting conducted by Edward F. Zeglen, Jr., GMS Mine Repair & Maintenance, Inc. and Chairperson, SME - Pittsburgh Section.

The Opening Session and Remarks were then provided by Michael A. Trevits, Xtraction Science and Technology, Inc. and PCMIA President, who introduced Barbara J. Arnold, Ph.D., President, PrepTech, Inc. and SME President to present her Keynote Address **SME 2018**: **Members First**, **Innovation and Professional Excellence**.

SME Pittsburgh Section Awards were then presented by Edward F. Zeglen, Jr., GMS Mine Repair & Maintenance, Inc. and Chairperson, SME - Pittsburgh Section.

Pittsburgh Section Student Grant Award Christopher Nelson

SME Member Recognitions 50-Yr Robert E. Murray, James W. Boyd, Peter Merrits 25-Yr Christian J. Breckenridge, Donald D. Sanderson

Pittsburgh Section Distinguished Member Award Michael T. Shook
John T. Boyd Memorial Young Engineer Award Dakota Faulkner, P.E.
John N. Murphy Early Career Professional Award Amanda Bayne
Mike Kotch Memorial Scholarship Award Daniel S. Ausherman
Claude Goode Memorial Scholarship Diegue Tchienga

Session 4: **Alpha Foundation Projects Update** took place under the leadership of Session Chair: Michael A. Trevits, Xtraction Science and Technology, Inc. The first presentation was **Highlights of the Alpha Foundation Research Program** by Thomas M. Barczak, Ph.D., Technical Director, Alpha Foundation for the Improvement of Mine Safety and Health. The second presentation was **Development of an Underground Aerial Reconnaissance System** by John E. Urosek, John Urosek Mine Consulting, LLC.

The last presentation before lunch was Increasing Effectiveness of Mine Safety Training Using Inexpensive Camera and Rendering Technology by Steven Schafrik, PhD, Associate Professor, University of Kentucky. The Keynote Presentation during lunch was 250th Anniversary of Anthracite by Michael C. Korb, Senior Mining Engineer, Tetra Tech, Inc.

Session 5: **Engineering Projects 2** followed with Session Chair: Brandon Williamson, John T. Boyd Company, who introduced the first presentation of the afternoon **Diverse Applications of Polyurethane and Polyurea Silicate**

Products in Mining Solutions by Josh Helbig, COO, GMS Mine Repair and Maintenance. This was followed by **Drone Aeromagnetic Surveys for Locating Legacy Oil and Gas Wells** by Garret Veloski, Physical Scientist, US Department of Energy, National Energy Technology Laboratory. The final presentation of the Joint Meeting was **Chain Pillar Development and Longwall Mining Adjacent to Unconventional Wells** by Casey V. Saunders, Manager, Coal/Gas Coordination, CONSOL Energy Inc.



Robert E. Murray Gets 50 Yr. Award from Ed Zeglen



Jim Boyd Accepts 50 Yr. Award



Peter Merritts 50 Yr. SME Award



Christian J. Breckenridge Gets 25 Yr. Award



Donald D. Sanderson Accepts 25 Yr. Award



Michael T. Shook, Pittsburgh Section Distinguished Member



Dakota Faulkner, John T. Boyd Memorial Young Engineer



Amanda L. Bayne, John N. Murpyh Early Career Professional







John Urosek



Steven Schafrik



Michael C. Korb



Brandon Williamson



Joel Helbig



Garret Viloski



Casey V. Saunders