

2017 Joint Spring Meeting of the West Virginia Coal Mining Institute And SME Central Appalachian Section Draws 120











Royce Watts

Mark Luxbacher

Charles Snavely

Joe Craft

The 2017 Joint Spring Meeting of the West Virginia Coal Mining Institute and SME Central Appalachian Section was held at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort, Lexington, Kentucky on April 6-8, 2017. The meeting drew an attendance of 120.

The meeting began with Registration and sign-up for golf on the Thursday followed by the Reception with Cocktails and Heavy Hors D'oeuvres. On Friday morning Technical Session 1 took place. Session Co-Chairs were Michael Day, Blackhawk Mining and Tristan Worsey, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY. The session comprised the following presentations:

Keynote Speaker was Charles Snavely, Kentucky Energy & Environment Cabinet, State of Kentucky, Frankfort, KY, who presented <u>EEC: Mission and Goals</u>.

"The State of Mining and Metals: an Update from Wall Street," Marc T. McCarey, CRPC® Associate Vice President, Financial Advisor, Morgan Stanley Wealth Management, Pittsburgh, PA.

"Update on Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission Decisions," Rebecca Oblak, Attorney at Law, Bowles Rice, LLP, Morgantown, WV.

<u>"Experimental Test Results of a Shearer-Mounted Flooded Bed Dust Scrubber,</u>" Joe Sottile, Professor, University of Kentucky Department of Mining Engineering, Lexington, KY.

<u>"Dynamic Material Properties Research Developments Using a Split-Hopkinson Pressure</u> <u>Bar at the University of Kentucky,</u>" Russell Lamont, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY.

"Tomographic Imaging of Dilation Prior to Mw 2.6 Fault-Slip Event in a Deep Nickel Mine," Ryan Molka, Graduate Student, Department of Minerals Engineering, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA.

"Time Delayed Deformation in Shale," Neel Gupta, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV.

In the afternoon there was time for Golf and Recreation activities. The day concluded with the Reception comprising Cocktails and Hors D' oeuvres. On the Saturday morning Technical Session II was held. Session Co-Chairs were Neil Mosley, Blackhawk Mining and Sampurna Arya, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY. Presentations were as follows:

Keynote Speaker was Joe Craft, President and CEO, Alliance Resource Partners, L.P., Tulsa, OK, <u>"A Look at President Trump's Energy Plan and What It Means for the Eastern Coal Industry"</u>.

<u>"The Future: Where Do We Go From the Present?</u>" Gregory Hinshaw, COO, J.H. Fletcher & Company, Huntington, WV.

"The Coal Mining Industry Restructured," Elizabeth Amandus, Attorney at Law, Jackson Kelly, PLLC, Charleston, WV.

"Performance Comparison and Characteristics of Flooded Bed Scrubber and Vortecone," Adam Levy, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY.

"Examining the Resilience of a Ventilation System in a Room and Pillar Mine: Network Modeling and Analysis of Fire Scenarios," Kody M. Musick, Graduate Student, Department of Minerals Engineering, Virginia Polytechhnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA.

"Applicability of Ultrasonic Waves for Remote Characterization of Asteroids," T. Wesley Edge, Graduate Student, Department of Mining Engineering, West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV.

After adjournment, Saturday was free to attend Keeneland's Thoroughbred horse racing spring meeting. The SME Program Coordinator is Geaunita H. Caylor and the WVCMI Secretary-Treasurer is Royce J. Watts. The President of WVCMI is Jay Johnson, Bluefield, VA. Vice Presidents are: Ryan Toler, Cary Harwood, and Shannon Vest. Officers of SME Central App.Section include: Chairman: Mark Luxbacher; Vice-Chairmen: Steve Keim and Keith Heasley; Secretary-Treasurer is Al Campoli.



Mike Day



Wes Edge



Marc McCarey



Rebecca Oblak



Joe Sottile



Russell Lamont



Ryan Molka



Neel Gupta



Neil Mosely



Sampurna Arya



Greg Hinshaw



Elizabeth Amandus



Adam Levy



Wes Edge



Josh Murphy



Charles Snavely and Dennis Hatfield "In Appreciation of Ben Hatfield"



Geaunita Caylor and Megan Doyle