Signature Sponsor
OSMRE Awards May 12 Nomination Deadline Just 10 Days Away!


May 2, 2023 - Don’t forget to submit your reclamation project nominations for the 2023 Abandoned Mine Land Reclamation Awards and 2023 Excellence in Surface Coal Mining Reclamation Awards by May 12!

AML Reclamation Award

Presented in partnership with the National Association of Abandoned Mine Land Programs, OSMRE recognizes exemplary reclamation projects that reclaim sites mined and abandoned prior to 1977. The AML Reclamation Awards are the highest honor a reclamation program can achieve.

Each year, OSMRE presents the following AML awards:

- National Award: Presented to the state or Tribe with the best overall reclamation project.

- Small Project Award: Presented to the state or Tribe receiving less than $6 million annually in AML funding and completes a project costing less than $1 million.

- Regional Awards: Presented to the state or Tribe with the best project within each of the following regions: Appalachian States, Interior States, and Western States and Tribes.

Previous AML Award winners introduced or refined techniques to achieve superior results in returning abandoned mine lands to productive use. Recent award-winning projects featured reforestation techniques, geomorphic land restoration, the creation of wetlands to mitigate acid mine drainage, landslide stabilization, watershed improvement, and other strategies to improve public health and safety and environmental conditions.

Excellence in Surface Coal Mining Reclamation Award

Since 1986, OSMRE has presented National and Good Neighbor awards annually to coal mining companies. National awards recognize achievement in a specific aspect of reclamation or for overall performance in meeting goals of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977. Good Neighbor awards are given to mine operators for successfully working with the surrounding landowners and the community while completing mining and reclamation work. This awards program is designed to help state and federal regulators transfer knowledge and information on outstanding reclamation methods and techniques from award-winning operations to other coal mine operators who engage in mining under SMCRA.